Home > travel > It’s who you know that counts

It’s who you know that counts


This is my first blog post from Japan. It’s only fitting that I should write one while I’m here since this is the country where the legend began. I’ve been thinking about the many blessings that I’ve experienced on this trip so far and I thought of writing about something that Rob reminded me of when I stayed with him in Tokyo last week. I was telling him how grateful I was for his hospitality and he reminisced about something his father told him.

It’s not what you know. It’s who you know that counts.

Over the course of this last week, I have since moved on to Kansai and am now in Kyushu and Rob’s dad’s saying has been reinforced for me. I have not spent a penny on accommodation since I arrived in Japan, which is simply down to so many friends offering to let me stay with them. First Rob, then Megu and Taka (and family) in Osaka and Wakayama respectively. Now I’m at Yudai’s and tomorrow I’m staying with Yusuke in Fukuoka. When I return to Tokyo at the end of the week, I have a choice of who’s place to stay at.

This trip would not have been possible without these people, who I see as truly awesome people and I will surely remember them in my prayers. Having dinner with old friends from over 5 years worth of Uni has been truly memorable and I still have over a week until I fly back to London!

God bless everyone of you guys. You know who you are. It’s going to be difficult to say goodbye to everyone.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

